Battle of the Water

Battle of the Water

Here in Morano we are now in the heat of summer. It’s been consistently around 32-37 degrees Celsius here (85-95 Farenheit). Every day the groups of kids are still coming until the 20th and every morning we work in the caseificio still, though most of the days we aren’t making cheese anymore. This means we’re doing a whole lot of cleaning and Pina is doing a whole lot of washing cheese.

In the last couple months there have been a couple time Pina has sent me to tell the Indiani (the two Indian guys that work with the sheep) to turn the water on. I didn’t really understand what that meant or how the water system worked, so I just did what I was told. In the last couple weeks, the water has become an even bigger issue—either one of the shepherds or Nonno Alfredo will turn off the water around 9 and then we will try to clean. Then they tell me to go tell someone that there’s no water. Then Nonno Alfredo comes and yells at them for a while.

What it comes down to is this. The whole town of Morano, including the farm, gets their water from the mountains surrounding the town. They have a reservoir that they can turn on and off in order to use the water in the houses, caseificio, and for the animals. In the evening when the animals return from being pastured, they need to drink water. At this point in time, however, there is less water than earlier in the year because of how hot it is. This means that water has to be used sparingly. So, Nonno Alfredo turns off the water and then yells at the ladies in the caseificio for using it, since the goats need it in the evening. Then Giuseppe gets involved and tells him that they need it in the caseificio. Then Nonno and Nonna tell me about it and I’m thinking to myself, “what am I supposed to do about it?” So it’s been a funny couple weeks watching the whole thing unfold. At this point, it’s still unresolved, but that’s kind of just how Italians work.

Besides that, I’m just entering into my final full week on the farm and I can’t believe it’s already almost time to leave. I’ve started taking pictures with my real camera now, so I’ll be putting those up soon. We haven’t been making cheese as much lately because the American kids have been here every day and the preparations take up a lot of time. Plus,  there isn’t as much milk this time of year. However, I have been able to take a couple good shots, with hopefully more to come!

This may be the last post to come from the farm! It’s hard to imagine that in a little over a week I won’t be here anymore. I know I’ve already alluded to these sentiments, but it’s something I’ve been thinking a lot about. Hopefully at least one more post will come from Italy, however. Otherwise, be ready to hear from me again once I’m back in the U.S.!

 

Leave a Reply

